Quick Note of Skepticism

Image

Randomly selected illustrative curiosity from current Artforum on-line…akin to the 19th century freak show?

I have  been reading a current copy of Artforum which I had the audacity to buy on one of my summer forays into the city (With my brother I think). I feel two-fold about  such art magazines…on the one hand, how full of sensationalist images and ridiculous attention-getting devices all the art ads for shows and Biennial pavilions look….Things like dogs dressed in red feathers or naked people hanging from mesh netting…Just kind of over the top…as in, my twelve year old daughter  looked over my shoulder at what I was reading and asked, “Is that a style magazine?” to which I answered, “Yes.” 

 

One thought on “Quick Note of Skepticism

Leave a Reply

